krotvisa.blogg.se

Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal
Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal













is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal
  1. #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL SERIAL NUMBERS#
  2. #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL PATCH#
  3. #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL FULL#

  • #48 - Laminated Bullet Proof Glass - Rifles.
  • #47 - Laminated Bullet Proof Glass - Pistols.
  • #46 - Shotgun Slugs, Sabots, and Smooth Bore Barrels.
  • #45 - Shotgun Chokes and Buckshot - Part Two.
  • #43 - Buckshot in a Rifled Shotgun Barrel.
  • #40 - Deflected Bullets and the Box O' Truth.
  • #36 - Frozen Clothing And The Box O' Truth.
  • #32 - Dum-Dum Bullets and the Box O'Truth.
  • #28 - Cowboy Pistols and The Box O' Truth.
  • #23 - ExtremeShock Ammo and the Box O' Truth.
  • #19 - The Water Box O' Truth Part 3: Rifle Rounds.
  • #6 - Ballistic Resistant Glass Gets Tested.
  • #4 - Miscellaneous Rounds Meet the Box O’ Truth.
  • #3 - The Shotgun Meets the Box O' Truth.
  • I always enjoy restoring an old gun back to its former glory. I hope Abel has many fine memories with this old gun. Now I reassembled the shotgun and we are ready for the range.Īnd here’s the receiver, after removing the surface rust.Īnd another picture of the finished shotgun.

    is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

    Take your time, light coats, so you don’t get any runs. I use many very light coats and I am done. It also protects the stock in case it ever gets wet in the rain while hunting. I will use a spray polyurethane finish, as I like the way it looks on a field gun. Now that the stock stain is dry, we were ready for the finish. I cleaned up all the metal and lubricated it for reassembly. Once it takes the bluing, then spray the area well with WD-40 to prevent rust, as the bluing is actually a type of rusting and if you do not put on a rust preventative, it will rust again.

    is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal

    #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL PATCH#

    The trick is to rub very lightly with a well-soaked patch of cloth. If you rub too long in one place, you can actually remove the bluing from that area. I use Birchwood Casey Super Blue (Super Blue has twice the bluing chemicals as their Regular Bluing)Īgain, there is a trick to doing this well. There were a couple of places where the bluing had been worn off, and I reapplied blue to those areas. While the stock dried, I worked on the metal. This color is mostly scarlet with a little Brown Rit Dye. I used some stain my old buddy Tman made out of Rit Dye and alcohol. I then lightly sanded the pieces to remove the whiskers raised by the cleaning. It only took two applications to remove all the varnish. Then I used a stiff brush and lots of water to remove the Easy Off and the finish. I then took the stock outside and sprayed it with Easy Off Oven Cleaner and let it work. Since there is little pitting, it won’t take much to remove the surface rust. The key is “Gently”, as we don’t want to remove the case hardening, as it is very difficult to re-do. The trick is to rub very, very gently, with a lot of WD-40 on the surface. To get the surface rust off the receiver, I used some Very Fine steel wool and some WD-40. This is a fine old gun, and was made back when they took some pride in their work.įirst, I took it all apart, to allow cleaning and refinishing. The receiver is case hardened, but had some slight surface rust, but no really bad pitting. It had one place where the finish was worn off the stock, but that is easy to fix. I got it home and decided to refinish this fine old gun to its former glory. I finally convinced them that those were the only identifiers there were. This one had four letters marked in a couple of places and that was it.

    #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL SERIAL NUMBERS#

    It took a little while to fill out the yellow form, as this shotgun was made before shotguns had serial numbers on them. She said, “That will be fine.” I told her to wrap it up.

    #IS PARKER DOUBLE BARREL SHOTGUN BARE METAL FULL#

    But, since I never pay full price at a pawn shop, I told her, “I’d like to make you an offer. It had a couple of dings in the stock, but it was obvious that they had mis-priced the gun. It was an Iver Johnson Cycle Works, Champion 20 gauge shotgun. She handed it to me and I couldn’t believe what I saw. I saw a rack of shotguns in one pawn shop and saw a single barrel shotgun with a price tag that read $79.95 on it. I went to visit my buddy Ted in Temple, Texas and he and I made our usual pawn shop visits, looking for deals.















    Is parker double barrel shotgun bare metal